cooking · Uncategorized

Oh, yummy.

The CSA program has begun!

SAMSUNG

I received 6 baby bok choy, 1 bunch of turnips, 1 bunch of radishes, about a pound each of kale and swiss chard, 4 bulbs of spring garlic, 3 heads of lettuce (1 red leaf, 2 green leaf), and almost a pound of popcorn from last Fall’s harvest. I’d say, combined with what we already have on hand, this will easily get us through the week. I’m thinking I’ll make some sort of soup with the kale and I’d like to try something with the radishes besides just tossing them into a salad every night. Time to pull out the cookbooks and get planning.

Last night’s dinner was an easy choice, though, and one of my favorite recipes I’ve come across recently. We had pasta with swiss chard, spring garlic, crushed red pepper, and (sadly, supermarket) tomatoes. And it was lovely.

Save

11 thoughts on “Oh, yummy.

  1. Hmmm…braising and sauteeing in butter are both recommended in How to Cook Everything Vegetarian as well. I shall be experimenting this week for sure!

    Like

  2. Roasted radishes are delicious. It seems to sweeten them, and mellows the “sharp”. S
    pread cooled roasted radish on thinly sliced, grilled or toasted french bread. Drizzle with a tiny bit of olive oil and a twist of coarse salt.

    Like

  3. I have to second the roasting technique! I love radishes raw or no matter how cooked, but roasting them really transforms the flavor.

    Like

    1. I think I might try roasting first. Anything that ends with spreading it on bread and drizzling with olive oil and salt is pretty much my first choice!

      Like

  4. YUM! This looks fantastic! I’m eager to hear which approach you take with your radishes. I’ve never really experimented with them, aside from eating them raw on salads.

    Like

    1. I roasted them at 375 for about 20 minutes. I threw in a few turnips as well. I quartered the turnips and halved the radishes, put them in a covered casserole dish and just sprayed it with cooking spray and sprinkled in some salt and pepper. It definitely mellows the peppery bite while still keeping a sharp flavor, if that makes sense. Very easy – and pretty when the purple and pink radishes bleed into the white turnip – and I really enjoyed it. I’ll definitely cook them this way again.

      Like

  5. Yummy! I would be very happy to have some kale right now, and some popcorn. I’ve become obsessed with putting extra virgin olive oil, herbes de provence, and salt on mine, very delicious.

    Like

Leave a comment